Silver Beaver Awarded to Neil Carriker

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Cherokee Area Council of the Boy Scouts of America recently awarded Neil Carriker, Burks’ Scouting Coordinator and Council Advancement Chairman, with the distinguished Silver Beaver Award. Introduced in 1931, the Silver Beaver Award is the highest recognition a Boy Scout Council can bestow on an adult volunteer. The award recognizes volunteers for consistent, dedicated service to the area’s youth, both in and out of Scouting. Recipients are nominated by their peers; their application is presented by the local council and approved by the National Council of the Boy Scouts of America. Congratulations to Neil! Burks is unique in that it has several Silver Beaver Award recipients. Others include Ed Bailey, Troop 166 Committee Chairman, Laura Wilson, Troop 166 Committee Member, Robert Wilson, Burks Charter Organization Representative, and Bob Crawford, Troop 166 Advancement Chairman.